It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Cake Ideas Using French Vanilla Cake Mix?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 9:54 pm 

I've seen some posts where French Vanilla cake mix and pudding has been substituted for the cake mix called for in the recipe. I have Anne's first CMD book, so I'd love to know the name of any cakes in that book using the French Vanilla cake mix that you would make again.

Thanks for your response.

Joyce :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:49 pm 

Hi pumpkin - I often substitute French Vanilla for yellow mix, particularly if starting with a Duncan Hines mix. I'm a little embarrassed that I don't make notations of such things (i.e., which cakes). I do remember using it for Blueberry Muffin and the Banana cake. Of course with the banana, you won't be tasting much French Vanilla but my taste buds just do not like DH's yellow (and I'm a big fan of DH's other flavors). I've been a strictly scratch baker when making a Hummingbird Cake but with the recent high praise for the CMD version, I think I'll be trying it soon - starting with a French Vanilla mix. A few weeks ago, I tried Erin's Not-So-Plain Vanilla from here on the board and I highly recommend that one if you want a great-tasting vanilla cake. I just made another one today. I'm a little surprised that Anne didn't include ideas for the French Vanilla mix in the Cupcakes book. That book calls for a lot of yellow mixes and I know I'll be substituting FV on a lot of them.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:07 pm 

Hi Everyone, :D